I should be writing my Literature Essay but…

what should I write about?

Should I write about what metaphors, similes, alliterative speeches lend themselves to Shakespeare’s poetry? Should I expostulate the number of words in Shakespeare’s time to form a contrast and thus explain the ambiguity of the words? What would be worthwhile to read? 1500 words to kill a story, as the saying goes, or rather, as I say now. It only takes fifteen hundred words to kill a story, rather than to let it fly. You should let poetry rest on your tongue, let its poignancy fill you, but all anyone seems to want to do is to tie it up and torture a confession out of it.

What will it confess? It will say, ‘I am letters on a page’, it will say ‘see how my vowel sounds repeat?’ it will show ‘see my metaphors, my similes, my foreshadowing, my dramatic irony?’ You will nod your head and say, yes, yes, that’s what it means, that’s the means to meaning. But its a lie, its a lie. The truth is what you’ve already read.

Let poetry melt on your tongue, let the flavours lay themselves on your palette, let it insinuate itself into your senses. It is a part of you because it is completed by you, what you believe it is. There’s no reason to do what we are taught to do, to dissect and perfect and reject. Instead let the words drop like coins into the cannister of your brain. Let them rest in their beds and gently gaze upon their faces. Don’t shake them from their slumber and force them to look you in the eyes.

Leave a Reply

