Obituaries

Nietsche once said that’However far man may extend himself with his knowledge, however objective he may appear to himself- -ultimately he reaps nothing but his own biography’. My biography feels like the end of a war, with nothing but a pile of obituaries that seems to feed on every year, enveloping a new life to add to its expanding mass. Here I am, helpless against it. I who spent a listless hour sitting in the library, just staring at the ducks and geese on the pond, enjoying the sudden rain and sudden sunshine, the colors of the Autumn leaves. I who have laughed and cried today, I who have heard three ‘I love you’s.

I am alive.

He is dead.

Rest in Peace Kevin. I hope that oblivion is kinder.

http://m.cumberlink.com/lifestyles/announcements/obituaries/article_49ba7638-dc4e-11df-920e-001cc4c002e0.html

good night Comrades, sweet dreams.

If you believe in prayer, then pray. If you believe in hope, then hope instead, not for the dead, but for us.

Leave a Reply

